Wednesday, January 30, 2013

Cecilia Reyes and Maggott

This cover for Wizard Magazine #72 features forgotten X-Men characters Cecilia Reyes and Maggott by Joe Madureira.

Cover courtesy of

Monday, January 28, 2013

Rogue Unpublished Series

 According to Carlo Pagulayan's Deviantart page:
An unsused cover for the series Rogue.
Had several pages drawn when they decided to put in on hold and think of a different direction for the character.
 This was a few months before Emma Frost

Friday, January 25, 2013


Here's the X-Men with Nexus, by his co-creator Steve Rude:

Wednesday, January 23, 2013

Enter the X-Men

This painted art was produced for a children's book called Enter The X-Men by Marie Severin.

Monday, January 21, 2013

Friday, January 18, 2013

Original Rogue

A neat Rogue using elements of her original design by Michael Golden.

Wednesday, January 16, 2013

X-Men Game Gear

This cover art for the Sega Game Gear X-Men game was painted by Dave DeVries, based on a layout by Jim Steranko.

Monday, January 14, 2013

X-Men #106 Unpublished Splash Page

X-Men #106 featured a fill-in story by Bill Mantlo and Bob Brown.  However, for it to fit in with their current story, Chris Claremont and Dave Cockrum devised a two page framing sequence that replaced this splash page.

Art from Heritage Auctions:

Friday, January 11, 2013

How Rude!

This Steve Rude Angel drawing shows his original costume before he joined the X-Men.

Wednesday, January 9, 2013

Help Wanted! -- Update!!

Update:  Praise be to the keen eyes of Phil and Anonymous!  Check out this post for the solution to our mystery:

If anyone knows where these images were originally published, where I can find larger scans, or who the original artist was please let me know.  High praise could be yours!

Monday, January 7, 2013

Greatest Comics Never Seen - Wedding of Cyclops and Phoenix

According to an article in Marvel Vision 19, the wedding of Cyclops and Phoenix was originally scheduled for X-Factor #66 in May of 1991.  An editorial decision was made to postpone the wedding so it could take place in X-Men.  However, this cover by Whilce Portacio and Jackson Guice was produced before the event was cancelled.

Friday, January 4, 2013

More Jackson Guice

Due to the synchronicity of having several recent posts featuring Jackson Guice art, I've decided to make this an official Jackson Guice week!  Here's a wonderful poster, courtesy of Sean Howe's tumblr page:

Check back Monday for even more Jackson Guice surprises!

Wednesday, January 2, 2013

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...